My Little Bro, Pt.II (D-12)

Benedict,

You finished your first year at Nursery a couple weeks ago, and you’ll be going to Reception in September. I won’t be giving you any more tips for school because it’s not necessary. Apart from the fact that you keep falling and bumping into things all the time and getting hurt, I say you’ve done a pretty good job so far. The teachers love you. Definitely a better impression than what I left. But I won’t be talking about school today.

Recently, you’ve been a little git. There’s no other way to say it. You picked up so many annoying traits from Nursery (and our cousins who are complete arses but you like playing with them). You keep whining and screaming whenever I try to help you, acting as though I’m trying to murder you. But our cousins hit you, but you don’t say a single word. Why? I don’t understand. I’m not even that bothered about you whining, kids always whine, but it hurts me that you don’t say anything about those arses but you run to our parents whenever you feel troubled by me.

You also have developed this concept of ‘sharing’ which is not sharing. It’s more taking-and-never-giving-back. But as the older sister, I am obligated to give things. I also have to put up with your name calling, you have called me ‘fat’ and ‘large’ but the worst thing you have called me is ‘stupid’. I mean, come on Benedict, I get called stupid at school and by our parents, do you need to start to? And the other day you accidentally made me pass out by strangling me, completely my fault really, I had offered to give you a piggy back ride but you were hanging off my neck; I did tell you to hold more onto my shoulders because I felt a little light-headed, but the next time I was conscious I was lying on the floor on top of you having collapsed off my piano chair. It’ll be while before I give you another piggy back ride.

But I guess it’s not your fault that you act a tad bit hostile towards me. You’re probably confused as to why you’ve seen me so much recently. With the help of summer holidays, I’ve been able to spend more time with you, but I guess you’re not used to me being here. You’re probably used to just passing my study room on the way up to sleep and just peering in. I get it, and it makes me sad to think that I haven’t really spent much time with you practically ever since you were born. It kinda happens every summer where you get a large dose of me, but then I hibernate for the rest of the year in my room. And despite your constant whining, I do enjoy time with you.

It’s true, I still am semi-hibernating because I have to prepare for A-Level, but you’ve started to come to my room and watch videos in there. As much as I find the fricking toy reviews annoying, I appreciate your presence. You started doing this when we were on holiday, and I didn’t know if it was because our room was the coolest (temperature-wise) or because you just wanted to sit there with me; but because you continue to join me in my room, I have reason to believe that you actually just want to sit with me. I mean, I would appreciate it if you didn’t do this – blasting videos of youngsters screaming as they play with minions – at seven in the morning when I’m still trying to sleep, but I’m not complaining.

So, I guess I just wanted to say that I’m sorry for not being around as much as I could; I hope that you will continue to visit me in my room even when I’m under a lot of pressure and telling you to leave my room when I’m ‘trying to do my Maths homework’.

I hope you’ll read this one day soon.

Love from your older sister.

-x-

Leave a Reply

